Photo by Svitlana / Adobe Stock Photo

Learn | 02.09.2022

What’s The Difference Between Vegan & Traditional Gummies?

Is vegan the way to go?

Nowadays, vegan-friendly products have become a staple in most food-grade industries, including the cannabis space. But sometimes terms get complicated, and you might become frustrated about why something is considered vegan or not, like me.

In the ever-growing cannabis market, things have become more inclusive. Edibles lately have been turning into the vegan side of things, including Delta 8, Delta 9, and even CBD products, like gummies.

If you are one of my people and enjoy having a gummy every now and then, you’ve probably found at least once the term vegan in the box or jar. 

And you’ve probably also wondered what’s the difference between vegan and traditional gummies. This is why we’ve written a few important points on differentiating them and what makes them unique.

 Whether you have dietary restrictions, allergies, or just follow a vegan lifestyle, with this article, you’ll be able to understand what makes vegan gummies different and if they are better for you or not.

Without further ado, let’s check out what vegan gummies are all about.

What Are Vegan Gummies?

Photo by goodmanphoto / Adobe Stock Photo

In simple words, gummies are considered vegan when they do not contain animal-based products. Instead of using animal-derived ingredients, brands use algae and other substitutes to make it vegan friendly, with products such as agar-agar.

If a product contains gelatin, beeswax, or even shellac, it can’t be vegan. Regular candies often use or contain these ingredients because of their cost, manufacturing process, or tradition. 

Vegan products have permeated many markets and have become a standard in most food-grade industries, such as the cannabis space. Nowadays, most brands try to include or incorporate vegan options to let more people try their products. 

Vegan gummies are a great way to add cannabis-infused products to your life without having to worry about dietary restrictions or having to add more animal-based ingredients to your day-to-day. 

One of the brands we love, Delta Extrax, created a vegan gummy that is super easy to indulge with. Their Delta 9 THC Gummies come in a ten-piece pack with 10 mg of sweet THC each. Plenty to share with friends or enjoy by yourself to unwind.

The gummies are 100% vegan and use all-natural ingredients and flavors that we love. They have these available in tropical Guavaberry Fruit, Blueberry Citrus Burst, and tart Kiwi Mixer and come in a convenient carry pack that is pretty useful to take on the go.

Besides having the consistency and flavor we all know and love, cannabis-infused vegan gummies are a great way to indulge while being eco and animal-friendly.

How Are Vegan Gummies Made?

Photo by Benjamin Branding / Adobe Stock

So, that all sounds great, but how are they made? Well, if you worry about chemicals in your diet, vegan gummies shouldn’t worry you at all. Traditionally, gummies are made with gelatin, which comes from the skin, bones, and other ligaments of animals.

Yuck, right?

Vegan gummies use algae instead. This algae, commonly used in Japanese candy, is called Agar agar. By milling this dried algae and refining it into dust, it can give gummies the same bouncy and chewy consistency as regular candy.

Beeswax and Shellac are also common ingredients used in regular gummies and some cannabis-infused edibles. Beeswax is used to give it a less sticky form by boiling the honeycomb and adding a shiny coat for presentation.

This also happens with Shellac, an ingredient used as a confectioner’s glaze in some candy. And spoilers, Shellac comes from the secretion of the Lac insect, a parasite that likes to live in trees in the South Asian continent. This processed glaze is used to give it an extra shine to some candy.

Some manufacturers use pectin, natural juice concentrate, or sprinkle some sour sugar on top to substitute these products. This is just usually a mix of citric acid with sugar, like Sour Patch Kids.

The Delta 9 THC Gummies from Delta Extrax use apple pectin, sugar, coconut oil, and citric acid to keep them vegan yet potent. So if you want to try cannabis-infused candy with products you can actually identify on the label, going vegan might be a good choice.

Benefits Of Vegan Gummies

Photo by Mirko Vitali / Adobe Stock Photo

Here are some of the benefits we’ve found by changing your cannabis-infused gummies to vegan:

  • Gelatin, Dairy, and Beeswax free. These gummies won’t have any sort of animal byproducts and are safe to consume whether you can’t for dietary restrictions or don’t want to.
  • A label you can actually read. Most manufacturers use different components and chemicals to make their products stable. Vegan products tend to be more “clean” in that aspect, often using only sugar, pectin, or algae to keep the consistency you love.
  • Inclusivity! Many people have allergies to certain ingredients that come from animal byproducts or decide not to eat them due to their values, so by eating vegan products, and you help to normalize vegan products into the cannabis space. So in a way, you are also helping to “spread” the cannabis space to more people.
  • Same flavor and consistency as regular gummies. Vegan cannabis-infused gummies taste the same as your regular candy, so don’t worry about weird textures or flavors.

Are They Better?

Photo by Farknot Architect / Adobe Stock Photo

Short answer, yes.

Vegan gummies are great, as they use all-natural ingredients without adding animal byproducts to the mix. And even if you don’t follow a vegetarian or vegan diet, they might come in handy to avoid certain common allergens, such as dairy, gelatin, or beeswax.

In conclusion, we hope that this guide helped you understand the difference between regular and vegan gummies. Now you know which products are not vegan, which are, and how they could benefit you by changing your ol’ edible for a juicy and flavorful gummy.

Remember, the Delta 9 THC Gummies from Delta Extrax are available if you wish to treat yourself without worrying about dietary restrictions or lifestyle.

Have you tried vegan cannabis-infused candy before? Let us know!

Understanding The Effects Of Cannabis And Nicotine

/

Cesar Salan


Scientists Discover A Major Difference Between Naturally Grown And Commercially Grown Magic Mushrooms

/

Julia Pfeifer

/

enter your email below to get insider updates delivered straight to your inbox.

READ MORE

3 Hemp-Derived Delta 9 Edibles That Ship Nationwide
Guides |
14.03.2022
3 Hemp-Derived Delta 9 Edibles That Ship Nationwide
Best Vegan Edibles Of 2023
Guides |
08.04.2022
Best Vegan Edibles Of 2023
How CBD Gummies Are Made
Learn |
25.02.2020
How CBD Gummies Are Made
Regular Gummies vs Fast-Acting Gummies: What’s The Difference?
Learn |
02.12.2021
Regular Gummies vs Fast-Acting Gummies: What’s The Difference?
The Best Delta 9 Gummies To Buy Online
Guides |
19.11.2021
The Best Delta 9 Gummies To Buy Online
Recipe: How To Make CBD + THC Gummies
Learn |
11.02.2022
Recipe: How To Make CBD + THC Gummies
Meet Dosist’s New Bliss Gummies
Learn |
04.02.2022
Meet Dosist’s New Bliss Gummies
HHC vs HHC-O: What’s The Difference?
Learn |
24.02.2022
HHC vs HHC-O: What’s The Difference?
THC vs THCA: What’s The Difference?
Learn |
14.07.2021
THC vs THCA: What’s The Difference?
Start Your Cannabis-Enriched Lifestyle Today At Consider It Flowers
Behind The Brand |
06.04.2023
Start Your Cannabis-Enriched Lifestyle Today At Consider It Flowers