Photo by Euflora

News | 10.04.2022

Vegan Vs. Non-Vegan Edibles: What’s The Difference?

You might think it's just gelatin and butter that separates edibles from vegan edibles, but it's a little more complicated than that.

While it might seem like choosing vegan edible options is rather easy, it can be pretty difficult, seeing as you must know where the cannabis was originally grown and which ingredients are in the product itself. 

But how does the cannabis plant itself have anything to do with vegan edibles? Well, as we know, fertilizers help plants grow and become strong because of the rich nutrients, and because most fertilizers contain nutrients derived from animals, what you’re smoking might not be entirely vegan. 

For this reason, we suggest vegans look into the companies they’re purchasing from and read up on their cultivation practices to see if they’re organic or if they use a feeding system that gives the plant its nutrients without the need for fertilizer. 

Photo by Cova

When it comes to edibles, vegans should first read up on the company, as mentioned earlier, to ensure the cannabis is grown organically and without animal fertilizers. The obvious second point is to check the ingredients used in edible products. A non-vegan cannabis edible will likely contain butter and/or gelatin, both of which come from animals. 

While butter comes from cow milk, gelatin, on the other hand, is a colorless and flavorless ingredient that’s derived from animal collagen. When moist, gelatin is rubbery and is often found in gummies and marshmallows. According to Gelatin Info, the ingredient is also used in foods that claim to be low fat because it can form an oil-in-water emulsion and replace fat content. 

Most gummies you find at your local cannabis dispensary contain gelatin, so we suggest you opt for vegan brands with edibles like the ones from this list. If you choose to make your own edibles at home, again, make sure you know where the cannabis was grown, and instead of using butter, choose an alternative like coconut oil. This is a great way to not only add a refreshing kick to your treats but ensure they’re fully vegan

Photo courtesy of Botany Farms

Not so good in the kitchen?

Don’t stress, because there are plenty of 100% vegan and gluten-free edibles on the market, like from the experts of all things craft cannabis at Botany Farms. Additionally, all gummies made by Botany Farms are free of high fructose corn syrup.

Check out Botany Farms’ farm bill compliant Delta-9 THC Gummies, coming in a delicious watermelon flavor that’s packed with 10mg of hemp-derived Delta-9 THC and 14mg of CBD per piece to send users into a relaxed and blissed-out state.

product
View Product

Find high-THC relief in Botany Farms’ Delta-8 THC Gummies, created in response to customers who desired a product rich in THC. Each gummy contains a whopping 30mg of Delta-8 THC and 2mg of Delta-9 THC, with assorted Tropical Mix flavors like peach, pineapple, and mango.

Finally, for a truly zen experience, grab Botany Farms’ CBD Gummies that melt in your mouth with eight individual, fruity flavors. Each chew comes with natural fruit flavors and 25mg of CBD.

These gummies are infused with premium broad-spectrum hemp oil to ensure you’re getting the most out of the cannabis flower without feeling high.

product
View Product

RevOps Or Revenue Operations: Aligning Sales And Marketing Towards The Same Goals

/

Rachel Abela


What Are THCA Diamonds?

/

Francisco Borrero

/

enter your email below to get insider updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Latest